REVIEWS - Monkeybay Backpackers


5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : aepafrica, Eshowe, South Africa ~ Reviewed Sept 2014 (Trip Advisor)

"When I land in South Africa, I always head to Monkey Bay first!"


I found this gem 3 years ago and I always come back when I enter the country and on my way out. It has a great vibe and fantastic people.
Mike and Lucky are amazing human beings!
I stay in the tree house or the Funky Monkey. It's one of the best backpackers! =)

5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : Nadine ~ Reviewed Aug 2014 (Trip Advisor)

"Lekker place to unwind and enjoy!"


What a cool place!
Definetely worth a visit, we camped and had a whole deck to ourself with mongoose, monkeys and plenty birds around us.
We loved the vibe and facilities especially the african outside shower.
Will surely be back when we are in the area. Thank you.
(Travelled as a couple)

5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : Sabrinaauf Reisen - Germany ~ Reviewed Aug 2014 (Trip Advisor)

"Very cool backpackers!"


What a cool place! The Monkey Bay is a very different Hostel.
We stayed in a treehouse with an open bathroom on the terrace. You can see the ocean while showering, that is amazing.
The rates are fine and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
There is cheap breakfast and wifi available at the Hotel next door.
The owner was also very nice.
There are free surfboards to use and surfing classes can be booked for a very good rate.

5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : Zurich, Switzerland ~ Reviewed May 16, 2012

"Really nice place"


I loved the people and the place, very well done, cozy.
These places you feel at home.
The tree house is very funny, for a couple very romantic.
It is very clean, too.

5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : Durban, SA ~ Reviewed October 4, 2011

"INSANE PLACE"


Get welcomed by a SUPER friendly Mike, who gives you the low down on whats going on, in and around Ballito.
With an awesome atmosphere, it's a great place to stop off, whether for a few nights or just a cold one before a night out… and u might not make it any further.
It's a place with a definite CHILL factor.
Close to everywhere (beach, bars, restaurants, outdoor adventures, crocodile parks, you name it.
Yet you will feel like you have been on holiday away from city life.

5 of 5 stars ~ Reviewer : Reviewer : Cologne, Germany ~ Reviewed November 24, 2011

"Verrücktes Backpacker - super -lustige Gäste"


Total lustige Location. Die Gastgeber sind etwas durchgeknallt aber sehr liebenswert.
Das Backpackers sieht aus wie ein Surferstrandhaus - mitten in der Stadt.
Es gibt eine echte afrikanische Dusche :-)
Leider hat man einen Blick auf eine Betonburg.
Wir haben total abgedrehte Tipps bekommen - das Geisterhaus, die Vögel usw.

Absolutes Kontrasprogramm. Abends gab es Schwarzlicht und House auf der Terrasse.
Wer keine normale Übernachtung will, der ist hier absolut richtig.

Man ist sehr schnell am internationalen Flughafen in Durban.

North Coast Courier - Leisure Options - Sept 2011

Quirky and soulful hideaway


“It’s quirky but it’s got soul” is the motto for Monkeybay Backpackers and rolls off the tongue when describing the creative and artistic backpackers paradise in Ballito.

You immediately notice the colourful difference that passionate owner Michael Dempsey says attracts people here.
For starters, the brightly coloured exterior stands out in the line of ordinary suburban houses with a surf shack on the verge, tempting backpackers and youths to try their hand at surfing.
A huge Milkwood tree gives shade to the mini-market that Dempsey has set up for his employees to sell their arts and crafts, while a huge map of Africa on the front lawn with ‘Where on Earth is Monkeybay’ written across and a signpost above reading on ‘Monkeybay Backpacker: Ballito Planet Earth’.

Started two and a half years ago, the name comes from Malawi Monkeybay in the southern region and was initially started to support vervet monkeys but changed to help orphans and give them an experience of a lifetime.
Dempsey explained that the hostel is constantly changing and he’s adding on more and more.
“When guests arrive, I personally show them around the area and it makes them feel welcome and gives it that personal touch,” said Dempsey.
His main focus is on improving tourism in the area, and claims to be the best mass budget bed and breakfast in Ballito.

“I think we’re very lucky to live here. Ballito is the place to be, it’s warm all year round and the waves are some of the best in the country.
The North Coast is absolutely fantastic,” said Dempsey.

Inside the backpackers hostel is no different with dorms, double-bed rooms and singles creatively designed and available to sleep 30 people.
A communal kitchen, bathroom and living area provide a social occasion no matter what you’re doing. The veranda outside has a charming old couch that is used more for jumping than sitting comfortably.
Dempsey designed most of the deck himself, with panoramic views of the surrounds it also has fire pits and braai areas.
A huge round wooden table sits on the other side of the deck and is fondly called ‘the drinking table.’
There’s even tents at the back to accommodate 25 people.
A favourite of the many backpackers that come to the hostel is the outdoor African shower with its natural feel and complete privacy it is an unforgettable experience. The hostel is also very popular during Matric Rage with many matrics opting for simple accommodation to save money. Dempsey says they also sell Matric Rage cards.

Monkeybay Backpackers is a wonderfully colourful place that is staffed by friendly people aiming to make guests stay in Ballito one they will never forget.

Surfboard Hire Rental Ballito Surf Board North Coast Kzn
Surfboard Hire / Rental

Rent from R99 p/day (Residents),
R150 (Non- Residents).
Lessons: R150 per 1.5 hrs

Camping & Camp Sites

Our Camping
Rates start
at R100
per person per night

Camping Camp Site Ballito North Dolphin Coast KZN
Landy Cabs
Transfers, Tours & 4x4 Hire/Rental
King Shaka Airport | 15 minutes away!
King Shaka Airport Transfers Durban 4x Hire Rental Tours - Landy Cabs

LIVE WEATHER


More info